Penalties for Drunk Driving Accidents
Drunk driving is a serious problem that affects every single motorist in the state of Maryland. You never quite know who might be under the influence when you get behind the wheel. It could even be the person driving the car in which you are riding. It could also be you.
Drunk driving accidents happen all too often all over the state. If you are involved in an accident and were found to be above the legal limit in Maryland, 0.08, you face serious penalties. For commercial drivers, the legal limit is 0.04. For drivers under 21, the legal limit is 0.02. Let’s explore the penalties you will face in today’s post.
Fines and Jail Time for Maryland DUI Conviction
The fines and jail time you face if convicted for DUI in Maryland include the following:
- 1st offense: Maximum fine of $1,000 and maximum jail time of one year
- 2nd offense: Maximum fine of $2,000 and maximum jail time of two years
- 3rd offense: Maximum fine of $3,000 and maximum jail time of three years
Penalties Related to Your Driver’s License
If you are convicted for DUI in Maryland, your driver’s license is subject to the following:
- 1st offense: suspension of six months
- 2nd offense: suspension of nine months
- 3rd offense: suspension of one year
If you refused the breath test, you face the following:
- 1st offense: 270-day suspension
- 2nd offense: two-year suspension
- 3rd offense: two-year suspension
If you fail a breath test with a BAC of at least 0.08, you face the following:
- 180-day suspension of your driver’s license for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd offenses
If you fail a breath test with a BAC of at least .15, you face the following:
- 1st offense: 180-day suspension
- 2nd and 3rd offenses: 270-day suspension
If you cause a fatal accident with a BAC of at least 0.08, you face the following:
- 1st offense: one-month suspension
- 2nd and 3rd offenses: one-year suspension
If you cause a fatal accident with a BAC of at least .15, you face the following:
- 1st offense: one-year suspension
- 2nd and 3rd offenses: permanent revocation of your license
If you had a suspended license with a BAC of less than .15, it’s possible you might be issued a hardship license, but would be required to use an ignition interlock device and follow travel restrictions.
Aside from the criminal charges you face after a DUI accident, you might also be on the hook for the property damage caused. This typically happens when the other person involved in the accident files a lawsuit against you for the damage to their vehicle. If you hit a person’s home in the accident, you might be on the hook for the damage caused to the home.
Difficulty Finding a Job
There are other consequences, not formal penalties, that you will face if charged for DUI following an accident in Maryland. One such consequence is difficulty finding a job, especially if the job requires you to have a clean driving record, be issued a company vehicle, or be required to use your own vehicle to make deliveries or handle other responsibilities. A DUI remains on your record for three years from the date of conviction. This means that insurance companies and employers will be able to find a DUI on your record when doing a background check if three years haven’t passed.
What You Should Do Following a DUI Crash
If you are involved in a DUI crash, never leave the scene. It’s bad enough you were under the influence, you don’t want to add hit-and-run charges to the docket. Call 911 and check on others involved, if you are not too impaired. Call your insurance company to tell them about what happened and find out if they will still provide you coverage and call a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Call a Criminal Defense Attorney in Maryland Today
Have you been arrested and charged for DUI after an accident in Maryland? If so, you need to protect your rights. Be sure to speak to a criminal defense attorney as soon as you are given the option to make a phone call at the police station. Do not ignore this charge or try to defend it by yourself. The law is challenging. Call Fellner Law at 301-309-2000 to schedule a consultation today.
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!